Our UC Santa Barbara faculty are well decorated academics earning prestigious recognition in their field of research and study. But arguably, the most humbling awards are those bestowed by fellow peers. At UCSB such awards are presented annually to two well-deserved recipients which culminate in free public lectures open to the entire campus community.

Faculty Research Lecture

Established in 1954, the Faculty Research Lecturer is the highest honor the UC Santa Barbara faculty can bestow on one of its members. The award accords Academic Senate members the high recognition that is their due, and gives faculty, staff and students an opportunity to understand the scholarly achievements and points of view of those we honor.


Alison Butler

2019-2020 Faculty Research Lecturer Award

Alison Butler, Chemistry and Biochemistry

65th Annual Faculty Research Lecture Date & Time | TBA

More about professor Alison Butler


Plous Lecture

The Harold J. Plous Memorial Award was established in 1957 to honor Harold J. Plous, assistant professor of economics at UC Santa Barbara. The award is presented annually to a faculty member of the rank of assistant professor or instructor who has demonstrated outstanding performance and promise as measured by creative action or contribution to the intellectual life of the university community. Awardees are selected by the Faculty Executive Committee of the College of Letters and Science.


Leah Stokes

2020-2021 Harold J. Plous Memorial Award

Leah Stokes, Political Science

63rd Annual Plous Lecture Date & Time | TBA


Alenda Chang

2019-2020 Harold J. Plous Memorial Award

Alenda Chang, Film and Media Studies

62nd Annual Plous Lecture Date & Time | TBA

More about Dr. Alenda Chang